About the Club

The Whanganui Bridge Club had its beginnings in 1940 as the Wanganui Contract Bridge Club, with Dr F. C. Hutchinson as its first President, and a membership of twenty-four. At the end of its tenth year, membership had risen to forty-two. A variety of rooms were rented for use by the club for some years until, in 1967, a house in Wicksteed Street was bought and became home to the club until 1984. That year saw the present rooms built, which were opened in 1986. Membership had risen by that time to 362 with three groups of players: Senior, Senior Reserve, and Junior.

One of our tournaments held in 2023.
Club premises on Parsons Street

The membership of the Club varies from 230 to 250 year to year, with three graded evening sessions—Senior, Intermediate and Junior—and two ungraded daytime sessions, as well as a number of tournaments and tutorial sessions held throughout the year.

Office Bearers and Committee Members for 2024

Ann Buckley

Sherry Pedley

Club Director
Wayne Pedley

David Berry

Owen Jones

Club Recorder
Don Nightingale

Vice President
John Dodds

Tournament Secretary
Sue Walkinton

Beginner Lessons Co-ordinator (2024)
John Dodds

Committee Members

  • Sally Brotherston
  • Carolyn Harding
  • June Lupton
  • Petra Paterson
  • Simon S.
  • TBC

Club Convenors

  • Monday Night — Brenda Collins
  • Tuesday Night — Rosie Austin
  • Wednesday Day — Rob Story
  • Wednesday Night — Betty Eriksen
  • Friday Day — Sherry and Wayne Pedley